Nov 29, 2017

2018 Fulbright Prize for International Understanding

The J. William Fulbright Prize for International Understanding by the Fulbright Association

The call for nominations for the 2018 J. William Fulbright Prize for International Understanding by the Fulbright Association is now open. Nominations will be accepted through December 15, 2017.

The Fulbright Prize honors the largest and most significant educational and cultural exchange program in history, as well as the career and spirit of its creator, the late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas. The Prize recognizes and rewards outstanding contributions toward bringing peoples, cultures, or nations to greater understanding of others.

The inaugural Fulbright Prize was awarded to Nelson Mandela in 1993, and it was given most recently to Senator Richard Lugar in 2016. Four recipients of the Fulbright Prize — Nelson Mandela, Jimmy Carter, Kofi Annan, and Martti Ahtisaari — have later been named Nobel Peace Prize laureates. The Prize will be presented at a ceremony in autumn 2018 during which the laureate will deliver a substantive address on his/her work and aspirations.

The Fulbright Association invites you to nominate an exceptional candidate to be considered for the 2018 Fulbright Prize. You don't have to be a Fulbrighter or a member of the Association to nominate either a living person or an organization. Nominees should exhibit sustained distinction in any field that exemplifies the ideals of Senator Fulbright and the Fulbright Program in promoting international peace and understanding. All nominations will be evaluated by a pro bono International Selection Committee.

To review the full evaluation criteria and nomination instructions, please click here. The Selection Committee looks forward to receiving your nominations.

Go back